Travis Dickerson Recording Studios Forum

TDRS artists, music and related topics => TDRS artists,  music and related topics (read only) => Topic started by: hexaChord on June 04, 2010, 03:25:27 PM

Title: Fake NTT on eBay - don\'t buy!
Post by: hexaChord on June 04, 2010, 03:25:27 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=270589014328  :-[

Seller is known fake seller from Asia.
Don\'t believe? Just ask him for detail photos and you will get blocked from bidding.  :P
Title: Re: Fake NTT on eBay - don\'t buy!
Post by: Alex R on June 05, 2010, 06:04:36 AM
It\'s sad that this is still going on...
However, if there was one on sale for less than $10 I\'d probably buy it, despite it being a total fake.
Title: Re: Fake NTT on eBay - don\'t buy!
Post by: hexaChord on June 05, 2010, 06:16:28 AM
I now have both, a real one and a fake one. There are only few significant differencies. I will make photos soon and put them together for an article on my blog.

For now:
- the matrix code of the real one is much bigger than the one on the fake version
- as already known, the matrix code on the real one is reversed when seen from the silver side
- the matrix code of the real one can not be seen through the orange side
- the orange colour is less even on the real one
- the booklet is a bit less colourful for the real one
- overall the real one looks a bit more dirty or underground
Title: lRe: Fake NTT on eBay - don\'t buy!
Post by: beelzeBob on June 05, 2010, 01:15:02 PM
Please post a ink to your blog when the article is ready.

*Edit: Duh. Nevermind.
Title: Re: Fake NTT on eBay - don\'t buy!
Post by: hexaChord on June 05, 2010, 03:32:21 PM
I\'ve made a small post containing some photos:

http://optinal.blogspot.com/2010/06/giant-robot-ntt-original-vs-fake.html

Please support the article by clicking on the "YiGG button" and/or the "Facebook button" at the end of the post. The goal is to destroy the business of those whacky Asians.
Title: Re: Fake NTT on eBay - don\'t buy!
Post by: beelzeBob on June 07, 2010, 02:58:27 PM
This post should be stickied to the top of the board.

Thanks for the info. Looks like mine is real.
Title: Re: Fake NTT on eBay - don\'t buy!
Post by: hexaChord on June 10, 2010, 03:54:10 PM
I\'m currently working on another post about several rare CDs from other bands, also being sold by these sellers. I\'ve had contact to several buyers of fakes and already have provided eBay all the evidence I have. Let\'s see what they\'ll do...
Title: Re: Fake NTT on eBay - don\'t buy!
Post by: BloodBucket00 on June 11, 2010, 09:45:11 AM
Nice one Hex on the all work you\'re doing there in compiling these evidence documents etc! Still, like you\'ve alluded to, I wouldn\'t be holding my breadth for Ebay to take any action/s against it.
Title: Re: Fake NTT on eBay - don\'t buy!
Post by: NotAHickInIndy on June 11, 2010, 01:55:28 PM
How can you tell with out buying?
Title: Re: Fake NTT on eBay - don\'t buy!
Post by: Alex R on June 11, 2010, 03:19:21 PM
There\'s a few giveaway details you can only spot if you know them. Thead HexChord\'s blog post to find out the details:
http://optinal.blogspot.com/2010/06/giant-robot-ntt-original-vs-fake.html[/url]